From the original SynthMaker forum (2004–2014), with its members’ names and dates.
infuzion ·
There have been several times when I opened someone else's OSM, mess with it, & click on [Yes] by accident to the "Save Changes to __?" prompt when I try to close it. But I always want to keep their original intact. Arrggg!
Not sure the best way to work it out, but perhaps a Option for write-file lock when I load OSMs, & click on a unlock button to write-over could be helpful here.
cheers
TomC ·
infuzion wrote: Not sure the best way to work it out, but perhaps a Option for write-file lock when I load OSMs, & click on a unlock button to write-over could be helpful here.
cheers
File explorer, right mouse-click on file, properties, set read-only option. I do that with
all downloads.
Tom
infuzion ·
Thanks for the suggestion. (edit) It sorta doesn't work; SM fakes that you can still Save As... over a "Read Only" flagged file, but I want to be able to save on top (or not) of an old file if I wish totally with in SM on exit. I'm lazy like that.
Maybe an Option to change the save-on-close behavior from Save to Save As would be best.
infuzion ·
bump
Add to that:
+ If you "Save As..." the file is automatically write protected.
+ "Save" asks if you are about to save over an existing file. 😠
rl ·
Maybe you should consider using a version control system. I'm using subversion (together with Tortoise SVN for windows). If I want to save some work I "commit" back to the repository, when something goes wrong I can "revert" my changes. Plus I have a complete history over the whole development time. Plus when storing the repository on a external HD, I always have a backup.
infuzion ·
rl wrote: Maybe you should consider using a version control system.
Alot of work? I just use "save often with new filename extensions" system; thus this thread.
Wrote something here? To have a post removed or your name hidden, write to [email protected].