SynthMaker

Folder Clones

Archive · 2005 12 old posts

From the original SynthMaker forum (2004–2014), with its members’ names and dates.

Tom7777 ·

After synthmaker crashed recently it made folder clones so i now have filter, envelope, effect ect twice in the list. The clone folders contain exactly the same modules as the original did. I have added my own folders which could be something to do with this error. When i went to delete them it crashed again but i found when i loaded the app again my custom modules i had added were gone which annoys me as i spent ages making some of them. Im not going to try to delete any more right now because i dont want to loose stuff. Thanks

stefan ·

Did you delete the folders with your own modules in them?

Also, you are using beta software currently under heavy development, back your stuff up 🙂

galaa ·

I had a similar problem, although not as bad it would seem. Duplicate folders appeared after a crash, but they have not re-appeared since I deleted them and it did not affect any custom modules

Tom7777 ·

Well because everything is still within the folders that was originally there its ok to work with this still but just annoying that i cannot delete the clones. 🙂

malc ·

Sorry to hear that Tom7777. Is everything ok now? Do you still have duplicate Filter Group buttons?

I'll look and see if I can find out why this happens. One reason might be that although the application window had disapeared after the crash, the software process might have still been running.

If you still see duplicates, can you possibly send me a zipped copy of your Modules folder (inside the install directory).

Thanks, and once again apologies if you lost alot of work. While we are in beta you may be better keeping all your modules in a separate schematic file as well as in the toolbox.

Tom7777 ·

duplicate Filter Group buttons?

I mean the folders to the left where you drag modules from im guessing this is what they are called. yeah i think it is because after the crash the process was still running for some reason. I did not loose that much stuff so its cool. And now i have paid for version 1 i will simple drag them to the new versions folders and there should not be any clones when i install it. They are still there at the moment because when i tried to delete LFO which was one of the clone folders the program crashed again and when i loaded it up again it had only the default modules in it and about 3 of them were lost. But i have now got those back as they were from code and structures i had found on the forum. The program is still fine but its just annoying having the duplicate folders there but does not effect me using the program 🙂

malc ·

Ok that's good to hear, and thanks for early adopting 🙂

There may still be a chance that you haven't lost everything. If the only deleting you've done has been within the software itself then your modules should still be recoverable.

This is because what you're refering to as a folder is actually a Filter Group. Filter Groups don't contain anything, they merely apply some search criteria to the toolbox. So deleting a group won't delete any modules.

Modules that don't appear in a filter group will appear towards the end of the toolbox (assuming you've sorted the toolbox by group). Have a look near the end to see if they are still there.

Another thing to check is the Modules folder in the program install directory. Each module is represented by a .hom file. Deleted modules are never permanently deleted but instead they are moved to the Deleted Modules folder. Moving .hom files out of the Deleted Modules folder and into the Modules folder or any sub-folder will reinstate them.

Let me know if you get anywhere with this.

Tom7777 ·

Cool there all there still as well as all the ones i have deleted before, Nice feature i did not know about this. also I think you should maybe add a are you sure question to the delete folder option though as someone could press it by mistake which i nearly did today 🙂

malc ·

That's great news.

I think you should maybe add a are you sure question to the delete folder option though as someone could press it by mistake which i nearly did today

I can see what you're saying. However, those sorts of dialog boxes really annoy me. They assume that a "yes" or "no" answer is equally as likely when in reality, nine times out of ten you're going to press "yes".

What you really want is the software to do what you want without it questioning your judgement but be able to reverse an action if it turns out that it wasn't what you wanted.

I think alot also depends on what the consequences of the action are and how easy it is to return to the state before the action was taken. In this case you're not deleting a folder, just a shortcut to a search filter. No big loss really as long as you can recreate the shortcut quickly.

Tom7777 ·

Yeah i guess those boxes can get annoying and also the deleted files go into a folder and theres crash backup which is really cool. Sorry i just thought it might have been something simple to add but i see why it is not really needed.

One other thing thats not really to do with this is if you rename a module so it is named then drag it into the toolbox it names ok and adds itself to that folder fine but when you drag it out again onto the structure/schematic the naming seems to vanish. Is that a bug or did you code that for a certain reason? Thanks 🙂

malc ·

Good question.

It's not a bug as such. It used to work the way you're saying ie. when you drag a module in from the toolbox you got the Name as well. I changed this because sometimes you don't want to see the name. For example, the Pixel to Grid component hides the module border and you wouldn't want the name to show in that case.

With hindsight I think this was the wrong thing to do so I'm going to change it back. I'll deal with the issue of hiding the name in another way.

Thanks for that.

Tom7777 ·

Thanks Malc 🙂

Wrote something here? To have a post removed or your name hidden, write to [email protected].

Before your first post

A few rules keep this a friendly place. You agree to them once.

Shown next to what you post, here and in the app. It doesn’t have to be your real name: 3–24 lower-case letters, digits or _ (capitals become lower case, spaces become _).

    Then your post goes up straight away.

    Delete this reply?

    Open it in SynthMaker?

    It goes on the track you’re editing there, in place of that track’s sound, and into My sounds. Your other tracks stay as they are.

    Want to keep that track’s sound? Start a new song in SynthMaker first (Song › New song), then open this.

    Report this reply?

    Only the developer reads reports. The person isn’t told who reported them.

    What’s wrong with it?

    Block this person?

    You won’t see their posts and replies here any more. They aren’t told, and you can unblock them at any time.

    People you’ve blocked

    Their posts and replies are hidden from you. Unblock someone to see them again.

    The community rules

    A few rules keep this a friendly place. Everyone agrees to them once, before their first post.